Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

CAPE Award

About Heading link

The Chancellor’s Academic Professional Excellence Award (CAPE Award) was established to recognize the demonstrated excellence of Academic Professional staff members and affirms our highest regard for the contributions of this important community to UIC.

Click here for the CAPE procedures and eligibility criteria. 

This year, up to 10 academic professionals will receive the CAPE Award which provides a $1,000 permanent increase to the honoree’s salary and a $2,500 one-time cash award. Nominations for this award are welcomed from UIC faculty, students, academic professionals, and support staff.

Click here to access the CAPE Nomination Application.

Information regarding the 2024 CAPE nomination deadline is forthcoming


Image of 2023 CAPE Award winners

Top Row (L to R): Carol Rose Fendt, Michelle McCrillis, Patrick Falk, Theresa Christensen-Caballero, Peter Berg
Bottom Row (L to R): Elizabeth Woods, Kathleen Diviak, Ricardo Rivero, Stephanie Calato, Jiwang Chen

Contact Information Heading link

For any questions regarding the CAPE Award, please contact 2023 CAPE Selection Committee Co-Chairs: Colleen Piersen, or Shubha Priyamvada, 


Previous Award Recipients